Application for a Change in Rating Category

View from Warragamba Lookout

The Local Government Act requires all rateable parcels of land to be categorised for rating purposes. There are four main rating categories:

  1. Farmland
  2. Residential
  3. Mining
  4. Business

To establish the appropriate rateable category of a parcel of land, the dominant use of the land needs to be determined. A request can be made to Council to change a rating category by completing the below application form. This form can also be used to request a change of category for the purpose of levying the Fire and Emergency Services Levy (FESL).

To be included in the Farmland rating category a separate application needs to be completed.


Application for Change in Category for Rating and Fire and Emergency Services (FESL) Purposes

Application Form for Farmland Rating Category


Council's Rates Department on 4677 1100 or