Australia Day Celebrations 2020

Australia Day Celebrations 2020

Posted on: 17.01.2020

Wollondilly’s official Australia Day celebrations will be held at the Picton Botanical Gardens from 8am-12pm on Sunday 26 January 2020.

The event will feature a variety of free activities and performances, including recognition of some of our amazing local residents with the Australia Day awards.

Mayor Matthew Deeth said, “Wollondilly has a great tradition of coming together as a community to celebrate Australia Day.”

“Our community has been heavily impacted by the recent bushfires and this is a great opportunity for us to take some time out to enjoy a fun day.”

The day will start with a free BBQ breakfast of bacon and egg rolls, tea, coffee and bottled water at 8am, all served by Rotary with all gold coin donations going to Wollondilly Emergency Services Dispatch Centre.

The Veterans’ Flag Parade will kick off the official part of the day at 9am. A special tribute to the fallen fire fighters will form part of this year’s official ceremony.

Formalities will include a Citizenship Ceremony and pledge, an Affirmation Ceremony and Australia Day awards. Live band Monkey’s Uncle will perform on stage following the official ceremony.

There will also be face painting, an airbrush tattooist, magic show, a giant water slide, jumping castle, a snake show and for car enthusiasts there will be a vintage car display.

Thomas the Tank Engine trackless train rides will keep the kids amused while giant garden games and much more will be held on the main oval. Tech Skills football coaching will also be there to encourage involvement in the sport.

Activities and local displays will continue until lunchtime, with a free sausage sizzle and lamingtons.

We encourage everyone to come and join us at the Picton Botanic Gardens on 26 January to acknowledge the achievements of our community and to welcome some new citizens. There will plenty of family friendly entertainment to enjoy.


Wollondilly congratulates the following people nominated for Australia Day Civic Awards 2020.

We hope you can join us to celebrate our nominees and their amazing contributions to the Wollondilly community.

Congratulations to:

Madi Baker

Win Harris

Michelle Robinson Legg

Aiden Bridges

Kim Hill

Mitchell Rockwell

Ron Bolton

Lee Hodder

Jay Seeney

Buxton Community Garden

Wendy Illistom

Shane Taylor

Dane Clark

Barbara Jolley

Tristan Triffitt

Taylor Clarke

Debra Monte

John Webb

Zoe Daniels

Kerrie O'Grady

Tia Veech

Mali Dillon

Simon Barry Keith Perigo

Sharon Robertson

Dilly Drought Drive

Fern Rice

Chloe Emslie