Council Congratulates Dilly Drought Drive Volunteers

Council Congratulates Dilly Drought Drive Volunteers

Posted on: 18.09.2019

Wollondilly Council is celebrating the recognition of some of its local heroes at the 2019 NSW Volunteer of the Year Awards for South Western Sydney today.

The Dilly Drought Drive volunteers received the Volunteer Team of the Year award, while coordinator Sharon Robertson took out the award for both Adult Volunteer of the Year and South Western Sydney 2019 Volunteer of the Year at a ceremony in Campbelltown.

Mayor Matthew Deeth, who was in attendance at the awards on behalf of Council said, “I would like to acknowledge the amazing efforts and work the Dilly Drought Drive has done to support our farmers.”

“This group of local people put in an immeasurable amount of work and it is great to see them recognised at this level. Wollondilly Council extends its congratulations to Sharon and the team.”

The NSW Volunteer of the Year Awards is an annual program run by the Centre for Volunteering which has grown to become one of the largest celebrations of volunteering across the country.

Regional finalists for the awards are announced at 21 ceremonies throughout NSW and will be invited to the Gala State Ceremony in Sydney for the announcement of the State Winners.

The Dilly Drought Drive has worked hard to provide hay and water for livestock at local farms suffering from the devastating impacts of the drought in recent times.