General Manager Welcomes Newly Elected Council

Warragamba Panorama

General Manager Welcomes Newly Elected Council

Posted on: 20.09.2016

It is with great pleasure that I welcome the newly elected Councillors for Wollondilly Shire Council. The Local Government elections were held on Saturday 10 September and the poll has now been declared. This new term of Council will see four returning Councillors and five new Councillors.

An Extraordinary Council meeting will be scheduled for Monday 26 September to elect Wollondilly’s Mayor and Deputy Mayor. The meeting is to be held at Council’s Administration Building and will start at 6:30pm.

Councillors for the four year term are as follows:

North Ward:
Simon Landow
Judith Hannan
Matthew Gould

Central Ward:
Robert Khan
Blair Briggs
Michael Banasik

East Ward:
Matthew Deeth
Ray Law
Noel Lowry

This is an exciting time to be representing the people of the Shire and together with the wider Council team I will be working with the newly elected Councillors to advocate for Wollondilly and drive continuous improvements in our economy, tourism, infrastructure and service provision for our current and future communities.

I would also like to thank our outgoing Council.  It has been an honour to work with them to deliver a range of accomplishments including a refurbished library, a campaign against the Federal Government’s proposal for a second airport in Wilton, working with stakeholders on the Wollondilly Health Alliance, partnering with other Councils through the Sydney Peri Urban Network and most recently the relief effort to support those affected by the recent storm event. This term also saw the declaration of the Wilton Priority Growth area.

For more information on any of these please see Council’s End of Term Report on our website

On behalf of the Executive and Staff, we look forward to working with the new Council over the next four years to deliver a range of key projects and services for the community of Wollondilly. 


Luke Johnson - General Manager